How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram (Complete Guide)

The fast-growing nature of Instagram has placed a higher priority on privacy on users’ sides. Making it possible for users to control how they interact with certain people in terms of what kind of interactions is acceptable.

 

With this great User privacy introduction, users can now be able to control and limit access to their contents.

Other restrictions like blocking a user are easily identifiable, while some other user controls are less difficult to identify.

Restrictions, based on comments interactions, and sending of messages are typical examples of features that can be controlled by users.

For example, when you restrict someone from commenting on your post, such a person’s comment will not be visible under your post, only you and the person can see the comment(s). Making you in a position to either accept the comment under your post or delete it.

There are still other restrictions that can be oblivious to users on Instagram, such as restrictions based on activity status or messages.

One important thing you need to note is that, if you are restricted by someone, you still can see the person’s post, like the post, and even make comments on the post.

But the restriction is based on the user’s preference, making you unaware of the certainty of a particular restriction(s) on you.

If you want to figure out how you can know if you have been restricted on Instagram, then this article is for you.

 

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

 

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

 

Being restricted is quite different from being blocked on Instagram, while the former is oblivious, then the latter is obvious.

Understanding the particular feature of Instagram that you have been restricted on, will be seemingly helpful to you based on how you interact with certain posts on Instagram.

 

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

 

As mentioned earlier, there are several areas that you can be restricted by the user, even while you are unaware.

Some of them are: 

  • Restrictions on Comments;
  • Restrictions on Activity status;
  • Restrictions on Messages;

 

Restrictions on Comments.

This is one of the most frequent user restrictions available on Instagram, Users are permitted to control who should comment and who not should comment on their posts.

 

This is how it works:

Whenever you are restricted from commenting, you will still be able to see posts, and interact with the post by liking them or making a comment on them.

But the funny thing here is, that your comments aren’t visible to the public. People viewing the comments on that post are most likely not going to see yours.

This is because you have been restricted from commenting, therefore your comment(s) can only be visible if it has been approved.

Now the question is how do you know that you have been restricted from making comments?

This can only be done by checking the availability of your comment on a particular post.

 

How can you do it?

To be conscious, if you have been restricted will not work using your account, therefore, you have to use another Instagram account to check if your post is available on a particular Instagram post.

I recommend using your friend’s Instagram account, or if you have more than one account, you can log in to your second account to check if it is available

If you couldn’t find your comment(s), then your account has been restricted.

 

Restrictions On Activity Status

Once a user restricts you from their Activity, you will not be able to see their latest Instagram post, or rather see the last time they were active on Instagram.

Most people do prevent users from viewing the last time they came online, some even restrict you from viewing their recent Instagram post.

This restriction can be unaware of by you because you might be uncertain if the user has made a new post or not.

 

To check this:

  • Step 1: Go to your Profile
  • Step 2: Go to Settings > Privacy
  • Step 3: And select Activity Status, and enable it.

 

Once it is enabled, hover to the person’s profile, if they recently posted something and can’t be seen on your account, then it means you have been Restricted.

Another way to check if you have been restricted is by using another account to check if the person has made a new post. If such a user has made a new post and it isn’t visible on your account, then you have been restricted.

 

Restrictions On Messages

Restrictions on sending a message is another way you could be restricted on Instagram, sometimes you send a message to someone, and probably get no reply from the person.

This mostly occurs when your message has been sent to the archive folder and wasn’t received by the receiver. 

Therefore, to check if you have been restricted on a message, you can send a message to the person, if after some hours and you haven’t got a response, even though the person is active, then you might be restricted.

 

What Happens When You Restrict Someone on Instagram?

 

What Happens When You Restrict Someone on Instagram

 

Whenever you restrict someone on Instagram, there are certain interactions that the person will no longer be able to do.

The results of your restrictions depend on what you have restricted the person from.

If you restrict someone from commenting on your post, the person won’t be able to explicitly comment on your post, but rather the comment will be deemed for approval.

This is similar to other restriction cases, such as restrictions of the message, where the person’s message won’t be visible to you unless you check your archive folder.

 

What Can Someone See If They Are On My Restricted List?

 

If you had restricted a person from commenting on your post, that doesn’t prevent the fact that the person won’t be able to see all the posts you have made.

Once a person is restricted, he can still make the necessary interactions with your post, like liking, sharing, and even commenting.

If you have restricted someone from commenting, the person’s comments will appear straight to the comments associated with your post, but will not be visible to the public and therefore, would be open for approval by you.

 

What Happens When You Restrict An Account?

Restricting an account is one of the options that help users control how other people interact with their posts.

Once a person is restricted, such person will not be able to do efficiently what he was restricted for.

 

Can Restricted Accounts Message Me?

Yes, if you haven’t restricted them from sending you a message, they can still send you a message, unless you have restricted them, then the messages sent won’t be notified to you.

But rather they would be found in the archive folder.

 

Why Did He Restrict Me On Instagram?

There are several reasons why you might be restricted on Instagram, either posting illicit content, sending spamming messages, or promoting violative content that could pollute the mind.

Whenever you discover you have been restricted by Someone, the best thing you should do is to contact the person to know the reason for the restriction.

 

MORE ON Instagram:

How To Watch Instagram Live Stream Anonymous

How To Remove Made With Effect On Instagram Post

How To Find Out Who Made A Fake Instagram Account

How to See Others Deleted Instagram Posts

How to Post Videos on Instagram Without Cropping

How to Know Who Saved Your Post on Instagram

 

Video Guide

 

 

 

 

Conclusion

 

Restrictions on Instagram are something you will experience, most especially if you’re promoting illicit content.

Therefore user’s based restrictions are quite oblivious.

In the course of this, I have written a complete guide on how you can know if you have been restricted by someone on Instagram.

If you have found this article helpful, you might want to share it with your friends.

Leave a Comment